Garage of Hope

This was an interesting find.  We were going on vacation and drove by here quickly.  My husband is always in a hurry to get to our next destination which was to the climb the nearby mountains.  I just made a mental note of it to say something on the way back since we were taking the same road home.  So, when I saw this, I get excited and asked my husband to pull over.  Being on the freeway you normally don’t do that unless your vehicle breaks down.  We found an exit and tried to find this “garage” building, but we couldn’t find it.  We went back on the freeway and had to go back up the mountain range.  It is May and kinda warm out. We have a/c, but the sun was blazing on us, so still very warm. It is not a short mountain range, and we kept looking for a way to make a u-turn.  We had to be on the top before we could turn around.  Phew!  Once we got on the bottom, we went back to the same road we had turned off on before, but went a different way.  Voila!  Before you say, duh, this was in the middle of nowhere where roads begin and end.  We pull over and take my many pictures.  I start hearing noises, so I stopped snapping, and just listened.  After looking around, I found it was my husband that was throwing rocks on the different buildings around, just trying to spook me.  I take many pictures of abandoned buildings, and sometimes the places are creepy, so I usually approach them cautiously, making sure there are not weirdos or ghosts lurking around.  The reason why I like these kind of areas for pictures is that there is history at each place I visit.  I wonder who lived there?  What kind of business was conducted?  Why did it close or the people leave their home?  I find beauty in these structures as they sit empty falling apart in a lonely area.  I believe they have many secrets. Like this garage.  It is in a good area, where people would need gas before they ascend the huge mountains before them, or at least, have their vehicle looked at before going up.  I can probably Google some of these places and find out what happened, but I would rather it to be mysterious, having my questions unanswered, lovingly take the pictures and make them amazing through the editing process, Create something of beauty for others to possibly admire or invision what it was or what it could be.

Leave a comment